Introducing My Novel?

Alternative title: In Which I Prematurely Blab About My First Draft

Screen Shot 2015-07-02 at 22.31.48

Although it’s already July, I’m yet to start my new Camp NaNoWriMo project; now this is for several reasons, firstly real life is being a bit of a nuisance at present, and secondly, I’m yet to ‘officially’ finish the first draft of my last project hereby affectionately and temporarily entitled ‘WiP#8’.

Why’s that?

Well, for starters, I still need to read through and correct all my typos (for there are many), and I’ve yet to blog about finishing it. The former, I will begin work on tonight, and the latter will begin now.

About WiP#8

The idea for this story came to me on the bus ride home from work in a short paragraph:

‘Nothing is more ominous in the twenty-first century than a black car with tinted windows slowing for you as you walk by. It’s the omen of the times. The black cat of the future.

And it’s here for you.’ 

And it evolved from the above into a weird and wonderful tale of a little girl, her story-teller aunt and the great adventure they share. It’s told from the perspective of an unreliable narrator, the little girl’s aunt, and set somewhere in the United Kingdom. 

It took me about a month, 30 days, to write the story from the moment the idea came to me, till I wrote the last words of this draft. Of those 30 days, about 21 were spent writing whilst the rest were plotting and planning. 

I will resume work on it at the end of this month, which is very exciting, and will then be looking for a handful of readers which is rather nerve-wrecking though this really is a story I want to share with you all!

And that’s it from me today, I hope your writing projects are all going well and if you’re doing Camp NaNoWriMo with me, that you’re finding the time to write during this incredibly busy month! 

Thanks for reading!

Janna

5 thoughts on “Introducing My Novel?

  1. AbsentElemental says:

    That’s pretty exciting! When I did NaNoWriMo, I ended up with about 65,000 words in 22 days, so I can only imagine how vigorous the work to get 73,000+ words in 21 days must have been.

    Like

    • jannakaixer says:

      Thank you! That’s amazing! It was a bit of a struggle but I did end up writing over 10,000 words on 3 separate occasions which really helped.

      Thanks for the comment!

      Janna

      Like

Leave a Reply

