In Which I Try To Inspire You To Write Everyday (Starting Today)

bag-and-hands

It’s hard to write everyday, believe me, I know, you’re preaching to the choir. Almost every writer out there can sympathise with your struggles. We’re only human and we all have people we care about (and for), jobs (unless writing is your job, in which case you’re very lucky!), studies and other obligations. 

But writing every other day is not enough. Writing is a muscle and, just like any muscle, it withers with misuse. 

For us writers, writing is something we need to do, something that makes us happy and completes us, it’s not a choice. I don’t know about you, but I’m awful when I can’t write; I become withdrawn, moody and all-round unpleasant. 

So what am I getting at? 

I think you, we, should endeavour to write everyday, no matter how difficult it may be to do so. 

Why?

Because it’s too easy to make excuses not to write otherwise; if you didn’t write yesterday, what’s one more day going to do? I’ve asked myself that question far too often and found myself with month-long writing droughts as a result.

It’s too easy to say ‘no’ today if you said ‘no’ yesterday.

Or if you’re tired, or you have other things you need to do, or if you just don’t ‘feel’ like it. ‘Tomorrow will be the day I start writing again,’ you tell promise yourself, and for a moment there you actually believe it. 

Where is this mystical tomorrow anyway?

I have lost so many days, so much time, to this ‘tomorrow’ that never seems to turn into ‘today’; it’s like my day resets itself the moment I fall asleep and I wake up on the same day with the same mind frame, ‘tomorrow’ I mutter. 

Recently I’ve started saying ‘today’ and writing something regardless of how I feel or what I have on and, to my utter surprise, it’s working. I’m actually writing. The first one hundred words (okay ten) are usually a struggle but I do get there eventually and it feels amazing. 

Sitting down and getting to it actually works, who would have thought?

The age-old adage BICHOK (butt in chair, hands on keyboard) is one to live by it seems. 

I challenge you to sit down everyday for a week and write something, anything, be it a sentence or a paragraph, part of a story or not, just something fictitiously wonderful. It doesn’t matter if you end up writing 34 words or 1000 as long as you have something on the page.

Try it, you’re a writer after all, this should be easy, no?

Make ‘tomorrow’ your ‘today’; remove the word ‘tomorrow’ from your dictionary if you must.

Write something now, before you can think of coming up with an excuse as to why you can’t do it right now. I don’t care if your cat needs feeding, your laptop charging or if you’re late to something; write on the go, write standing, just grab a piece of paper and pen (or your phone) and write.

Just write! And remember, the hardest part is starting.

Good luck,

Janna 

Do you write everyday? If so, how do you find the time? If not, would you consider trying? Perhaps in the form of a challenge like the up-coming Camp NaNoWriMo?

The photo used in today’s post is by the lovely Alejandro Escamilla.

2 thoughts on “In Which I Try To Inspire You To Write Everyday (Starting Today)

  1. J.M.D. Reid says:

    There’s a great Terry Pratchet quote on making excuses when you should be doing something.

    “Would a minute have mattered? No, probably not, although his young son appeared to have a very accurate internal clock. Possibly even 2 minutes would be okay. Three minutes, even. You could go to five minutes, perhaps. But that was just it. If you could go for five minutes, then you’d go to ten, then half an hour, a couple of hours…and not see your son all evening. So that was that. Six o’clock, prompt. Every day. Read to young Sam. No excuses. He’d promised himself that. No excuses. No excuses at all. Once you had a good excuse, you opened the door to bad excuses.”

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

