Liebster Award (Part 3?)

award2

I can’t quite believe it but I’ve been nominated for another Liebster Award. Thank you Gloria for the nomination!

As I’ve done it twice before, I thought I’d do it a little differently this time, and by that I mean with a different set of rules. The rules this time (though they’re not that different) are as follows;

  • Acknowledge the blogger who nominated you and add a badge to your profile.
  • Answer the 11 questions that the blogger gave you.
  • Give 11 random facts about yourself.
  • Nominate 11 other blogs that have less than 200 followers.
  • Let the bloggers know you have nominated them and give them 11 questions to answer.

Here are Gloria’s questions:

  1. If you met your main character (or the main character from your favourite novel) in person, would you be friends, enemies or frenemies?
    I’ll answer this question in regards to the protagonist in my last (unfinished) novel; we would most definitely be frenemies. He, my character, isn’t the type of person you could easily be friends with mainly because of his arrogance but also because he perceived interpersonal relationships as weaknesses.
  2. What is the most unique part of your manuscript or blog?
    I guess my interpretation of different things is what makes what I write about unique – my experiences, thoughts, education and upbringing all play a role in my perception of things and, by extention, the way in which I write.
  3. What is your career now, and what is your dream career?
    I’m currently a student hoping to become a freelance editor/content creator on the side primarily to pay for university. I hope to be a full-time writer, an author one day — that’s the dream, though I’d settle for a literary agent/editor/publisher any day.
  4. If you could live anywhere in the world, where would it be and why?
    London because of the culture, the literary scene, how it’s located in Europe (not in another world like NZ) and the environment/atmosphere (the city and the country).
  5. What inspired you to write (either your manuscript or you blog)?
    The manuscript I’m going to be writing is inspired by various things, primarily Poe’s stories, Gaiman’s thought-provoking prose, the photos on this Pinterest here and my previous manuscripts.
  6. What is the hardest lesson you’ve learned so far in your writing journey or life?
    First drafts are always going to be bad. There’s no exception! Editing is not an umbrella term for copy-editing/line-editing and all that. A book will need many different types of edits and rewrites are a must!
  7. What is the best advice you’ve received?
    Fake it till you make it. I’ve never forgotten it since and it’s saved me countless times from millions (it seems, though that may be a slight hyperbole) of potentially embarrassing situations.
  8. Who is your closest confidante?
    Gosh, this is a hard one! Whilst I have a fair amount (what I’d call) close friends, I don’t have many I’m especially close with so my closes confidante would have to be my Mum.
  9. What’s your favourite blog and why?
    Don’t make me choose! Though if I must I’d have to say (at present) it’s Writerology by Skye. After studying Psychology for the past two years the subject’s grown on me and my initial idea for a blog was to explore the psychology behind writing which is exactly what Skye does. It’s my (current) dream to guest blog there.
  10. Books, tv, or movies?
    Books, definitely books! The written word is amazing not to mention, to me, the stories play out in my mind anyway, who needs TV or movies?
  11. How do you make difficult decisions about your characters or settings? Any trouble “murdering your darlings”?
    Would it be terrible if I said that, to some extent, I enjoy my character’s suffering? That the ‘difficult decisions’ are the best ones? I write to explore human nature, both sides of it, it’s what I love doing.

Random Facts About Me

  1. I love comedy; my favourite comedians are Eddie Izzard and Tim Minchin.
  2. Before I wanted to be a writer I had wanted to be an illustrator.
  3. I still want to, at one point in my life, illustrate stories; I love art.
  4. I really don’t like sushi, or rice, though I will eat the latter if the occasion calls for it.
  5. I’m a very (very) slow eater.
  6. Singapore is one of my favourite places in the world because it’s the mid-way point between New Zealand and Hungary, my two ‘homes’.
  7. Onions are my enemies.
  8. I can’t stand it if a piece of paper is, even if it’s just a little, crinkled.
  9. Red is my favourite colour, along with a hot pink, blue and green (emerald).
  10. I can never remember street names, I orientate myself using buildings or store names and as such am always getting lost in new places.
  11. When I’m excited about something I tend to stumble over my words and appear dim at best.

My nominees this time round are;

  1. Chloe at Chloe is Confused
  2. Susan at Confessions of a Fangirl
  3. Ginny at Ginny Writes
  4. Lindsay at What I learned While Writing a Novel
  5. Meredith at thetroublewithtwentytwo.wordpress.com
  6. Katie at Writer in Progress
  7. Sarah at A Girl Who Writes

My questions this time are the same as last time round;

  1. If you could only read one book for the rest of your life, what would it be?
  2. If your life was a book what would it be called?
  3. Who was your first fictional crush?
  4. Traditional publishing vs self publishing – which would you choose if you had the choice? And why?
  5. Ebooks vs real books? Which wins?
  6. Do you read picture books or graphic novels? Why/why not?
  7. What are your thoughts on NA (new adult) fiction?
  8. What is a book you’ve read purely because of the cover?
  9. What must a book have in it for you to fall in love with it?
  10. Are there any movies/TV series out there that you think are better than the books from which they originated?
  11. Where is your favourite place to read/write?

I’d love to come up with more but I can’t think of anyone else off the top of my head and WordPress has gone a little funny. I’m not going to tempt fate by attempting to retrieve the list of blogs I follow. Thanks again Gloria for the nomination!

Janna

5 thoughts on “Liebster Award (Part 3?)

    • jannakaixer says:

      I thought so too! They were rather difficult to answer though, but that’s what makes this fun. If you’re anything like me you’d love his character, he’s rude but in an almost awesome way.

      Thanks for the comment!

      Janna

      Like

Leave a Reply

